A 5-min Talk for the Declaration of the Bab

Sep 2012
Panama
[note: this is what's called "sharing homework w/ friends on the internet...]

May 23 has always been my favorite holy day --even when it falls on May 24-- but it hasn't always been that way for me. Thing is when I first heard about the Bab of Persia/1844 I was a college pre-seminary student; I considered myself a Christian and I saw no connection linking Christ and the Bab.

That changed, and the link turned out to be the Angle Gabriel:
gabriel.png

[fwiw, this pic was what came up among many others when I googled 'pictures angel Gabriel', and imho it's way better than the others. Most pics showed him like a typical angel, all sweet & lovely. This pic however shows him to be the kind of angel that when he speaks you need to pay attention.]

Gabriel shows up in the Bible just two times. Once was w/ his visit to Mary back when she was still single and he said that she was going to give birth to the Son of God (Luke 1: 30) --he'd told her this right after he told Elizabeth that her son would be John the Baptist who'd come "in the spirit and power of Elijah (Luke 1: 13-17).

The other place Gabriel shows up we'll get to in a min. but first we need to look at Jesus about 30 years after Gabe's visit to his mother.

He was chatting w/ the disciples on the Mt. of Olives and they asked him "...what will be the sign of your coming and of the close of the age?” (Mathew 24: 3). Jesus replied describing many signs, one being how "...this gospel of the kingdom will be preached throughout the whole world..." (Mathew 24: 14) but (again imho) the big clue was "when you see the desolating sacrilege spoken of by the prophet Daniel" (Mathew 24: 15).