a quick question about vinegar

Jan 2011
94
Detroit, MI USA
#1
If I'm not mistaking during the making of vinegars all have alcohol in them but at the end of the making the alcohol goes away.

Can baha'is consume vinegars?

Thank you.
 
May 2018
84
New Zealand
#2
Sugar - alcohol- vinegar ... Natural products always have a mix.

Ripe fruit has a trace amount of alcohol .

Consuming enough of either to notice an effect of alcohol isn't possible ..
 
Jan 2011
94
Detroit, MI USA
#3
Sugar - alcohol- vinegar ... Natural products always have a mix.

Ripe fruit has a trace amount of alcohol .

Consuming enough of either to notice an effect of alcohol isn't possible ..
But let's say you mix apple cider vinegar in food, can we consume those foods?
 
May 2018
84
New Zealand
#4
But let's say you mix apple cider vinegar in food, can we consume those foods?
Yes, you can eat vinegar.

There is no law against vinegar or bread or dairy products, all of which contain trace amounts of alcohol but have been eaten for thousands of years .

The spirit of the law against the consumption of alcohol is to avoided becoming intoxicated . Alcoholic beverages are consumed for the primary purpose of getting drunk, therefore they are prohibited .
 
Jan 2011
94
Detroit, MI USA
#5
Yes, you can eat vinegar.

There is no law against vinegar or bread or dairy products, all of which contain trace amounts of alcohol but have been eaten for thousands of years .

The spirit of the law against the consumption of alcohol is to avoided becoming intoxicated . Alcoholic beverages are consumed for the primary purpose of getting drunk, therefore they are prohibited .
thanks traveller
 
Jun 2014
1,025
Wisconsin
#6
In addition to traveller's comments, not only vinegars but also extracts like vanilla and even rum extract are explicitely allowed.
 

Similar threads