College Student Curious About Baha'i Life

Mar 2014
Pembroke Pines, Fl
Hello to all of you! New person here!

Thank you, first of all, for clicking on my thread! My name is Anai, and I am an anthropology undergraduate student at Florida International University. I am working on a group project for one of my courses this semester called “Myth, Rituals, and Mysticism”, which is my department’s fancy way of calling a course “Anthropology of Religion”. The project everyone in my class was given was to learn about a spiritual system of belief outside of those familiar to you, and to submit a paper at the end of the term with all that we learned. In my personal life, coincidentally, I committed myself to honestly and openly seeking the truth about spirituality and God (I come from a Protestant Christian background) at the end of last year. I already knew someone in my life who had recently become a Baha'i, and my conversations with them had already stoked my curiosity as to what it was all about. So I proposed examining the Baha’i faith as the subject of this class project, and my group mates- never having hear of, but very interested in the Baha’is- were all for it! And thus, my personal and academic journeys converged into one.

‘So that’s all well and good, but what am I doing here?’ you may ask. Well, part of the project involves interviewing members in the belief system of study. I found this forum looking for background information on Baha’i, and thought I’d ask some of the questions I’m trying to find the answers to here! Below are a number of questions I have for those of you who believe in and practice in the Faith. Please feel free to answer as many or as little of the questions as you’d like! Any size response will do, and please forgive me if I’ve misinterpreted or offended anything or anyone with my questions! By all means, please correct me!