Dating / Courtship

Oct 2012
Vancouver
I have a few questions about dating / courtship.

My exboyfriend and I are Baha'i. I am very new to the Baha'i faith and am a little confused about the dating process. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Recently my boyfriend broke up with me saying he just wants to be friends so he can get to know my character. He thinks things were moving very fast between us. He says he wants to make no commitment or say we are dating or in a relationship of any kind other than friendship. He wants to save any form of commitment until marriage. He says he wants to "get to know others characters too." At the same time he tells me he is interested in getting to know me to decide if I am the one he wants to marry. He also tells me he prefers if I don't see anyone else because he'll be jealous.

My question is, is there something in Baha'i faith that says no commitment should be made until marriage? What does the process of "dating" look like and how does friendship come into play and what does that look like?

I get the sense this is all crazy. I feel very confused.

Thank you for any clarifications.

Aug 2012
USA
Lol, oh boy...

I laugh only because it's amazing what some people will do for sex. Look, I don't know your ex-boyfriend or anything, but here is how this sounds:

"Hey, I don't think we should date anymore, until I really get to know your...uhm... 'character'. But I also want to get to know other people's... 'character' too. Oh and I would appreciate it if you didn't date anyone else because that's not cool."