Hello from an American in Senegal

Mar 2019
Senegal
Allahu abha,
Ive been in Senegal for ~1.5 years doing agroforestry and other agriculture work as a US Peace Corps Volunteer. I live in a rural village of ~150 people. Like most of Senegal/The Gambia, my area is mostly Muslim. My town is 100% other than myself.

I am not officially a Baha'i and have never met one, except a friends family from childhood who I remember were Baha'i. As a child then all I remember was that their house had a picture with the wheel of different religious symbols.

I am Jewish culturally from my mother, and my father was raised Christian. Neither parent is religious and so I was not raised in any religion.

Since college when I studied anthropology and sociology I've read Baha'u'llah's writings and studied the faith a bit. I feel a strong connection to it and now living in a religious society (Islam) I have come to see the beauty of being part of a united religious group.

In April I intend to return to The Gambia briefly, and while I am there I'd like to visit the National Baha'i Center in Serrekunda.

I read Baha'i scripture every night and have begun praying. How would I officially join and what does that then entail?

Thanks,
Greetings from Senegal and 'peace only' as we say here

Jul 2017
Kettering, Ohio USA
Welcome to Baha'i Forums! I don't know how to contact Baha'is in Senegal but all you have to do is sign a card that says you believe in Baha'u'llah and you will obey Baha'i institutions.

Mar 2019
Senegal
Thanks! I can't find any locations of Baha'i in Senegal despite Wikipedia citing some things claiming there at least were some here in the mid 00s...

Gambia on the other hand is very close to where I live, and they do have an address for a National Baha'i Center in Serrekunda and a nice website. I'll be visiting soon, maybe they have a card I can sign.

Funny that the first Baha'is I'll ever meet will be Gambian ones! Very in line with the teachings of human unity.

Sep 2010