I became a Baha'i!

Jul 2011
Georgia
Hey I got some requests for more info- I didn't know where to put it so I suppose I'll put it here.

So...after about 8 months of investigation, I hit the little button on the website and became a Baha'i! I did a good bit of prior investigation- I read the Aqdas, Iqan, Some Answered Question, Thief in the Night, God Loves Laughter, Hidden Words, and Gems of Divine Guidance, and went to the local Baha'i center many times.

After racking over it for a long time, I decided to just go ahead and do it. You know, be decisive about something for once.

Yes, for those who know, I am a high school student living with two secular parents of Christian and Jewish faith- both of whom I'm pretty sure either already think I am Baha'i or don't particularly mind either way.

I feel like I may want to be different in some ways- for example, I really wish to incorporate many elements of Buddhism- for example I have a mala, and meditate with it, as well as my own set of Baha'i prayer beads which I made-
I will also continue to visit different religious centers- once I get my license, which should be in a few months.

It looks as though I will probably not be doing the fast in it's entirety due to track (not eating would be physically harmful during the time) but maybe I can fast during the summer to try to make up for it a bit. I believe this is permitted, though it is not the same.

I still have lingering concerns (mostly about the Administration and a lot of the hearsay-ish stories found about the web) but I wish to know through my own experience and not that of others.

Thank you all for your support! You did help- not so much as the "real", physical people at the Baha'i center, but I do thank you all.

Mar 2011
us
That's great wombatwolf. I'll say a few things as usual, concise but try to sincerely help.