My Mandinka translation of the Short Obligatory Prayer

Mar 2019
Senegal
Allah'u'Abha
Im not sure why but I felt compelled to translate the short obligatory prayer to the language I've been learning for the past two years, Mandinka. I live in a rural Mandinka community in central Senegal. I know English is the apparent universal language, but with consideration to unity through plurality, the individual languages should also be celebrated for their beauty and diversity of insight, and not be abandoned or go untaught, or thought of as less than global languages.

Near me is the border to The Gambia, a Mandinka-majority country. While maybe 98% of Mandinka people are Muslim, there is a Baha'i NSA in Serrekunda, Gambia that I plan to visit soon. They may not even consist of many Mandinkas, perhaps more Gambian Baha'i are Wolof, Jola, or other groups, but Mandinka is the lingua franca of Gambia along with English.

I did this out of curiosity and celebration of this language I've grown to love, and to practice my own skills, and for no other purpose that I know of yet.

I hope you enjoy. Perhaps the Baha'i of The Gambia have a better translation of this and more available there, but my guess is they just use English.

Pronounciation guide
'Ŋ' / 'ŋ' sound is a soft 'ng' as in ring, bring, singing.
Double letters signify a long syllable. E is 'ay' or 'é', and ee is thus a slightly longer 'ay'.
I is 'ee' as in breeze
A is 'ah'
O/oo - 'oh', double letter gives this syllable the emphasis

Ŋa a'seedeyaa, O nna Allah, I'ye n'dada woto mb'I'lonne aniŋ mb'I'batula. Ŋa a'seedeyaa, bii bii la, nna sembentaŋyaa aniŋ Ila Mansabaayaa, nna fuwaariyaa aniŋ Ila nafuloo.
Allah do te jee bari Ite damaŋ, Maakoyirilaa tana kono, Faŋ-Baluuraŋo

I bear witness, O my God, that Thou hast created me to know Thee and to worship Thee. I testify, at this moment, to my powerlessness and to Thy might, to my poverty and to Thy wealth.